Skip to content

Welcome to my new blog!

March 12, 2010

My hope with this blog is to help other moms-to-be who are older and/or are carrying twins, and also to learn from you.  It will also be a way for me to journal my experiences in this adventure for myself,  our kids, and for loved ones who can catch up on the secret life we will have been leading for the first 13 or so weeks.

My name is Kim. I am 37 years old, and what the doctors like to call of “advanced maternal age.” My husband and I have been trying to have a child for about a year and a half. I was pregnant last year and miscarried. It was an awful ordeal and an experience worthy of a blog of its own.

I am pregnant again and was SHOCKED to learn that I am carrying twins! I am convinced this is a result of my ovulation never normalizing; I must have released 2 eggs.  This of course makes my pregnancy even more high risk, and it is very early on, so I am trying to take this one step at a time. I am 10 weeks.  We are waiting to buy things, to do up the nursery, even to tell people. I only just told my parents within the last week.We are waiting to tell other family and friends.

Having been pregnant, albeit briefly, before, I can’t help at marvel at both the similarities and differences in my symptoms this time around. Sure some where the same, but some symptoms that I had last time I do not this round, and others such as nausea and windedness are much stronger. This I knew was partly due to the progesterone which I asked my doctor to put me on as a precuation in case my body isn’t making enough on its own to maintain a pregnancy ( a very common thing, particularly for those of us of “advanced maternal age.”) It turns out it is also due to the fact that I’m carrying twins!

Now I’ve read some scary stats on twins. Most twin pregnancies don’t result in twin births, and complications during pregnancy are much more common.

Twins means I need an additional caloric intake of 600 calories to my pre-pregnancy intake. Now this would be a cinch if it could be done in candybars, but alas, it is supposed to be done by eating the following every day:*

6-8 protein servings

4-6 calcium servings

1-3 vitamin C fruit/veggies

4-6 vegetable & to a lesser extent other fruit servings

8 whole grains

4 fats

an iron rich food

and 10-12 glasses of water minimum

Now some foods can count in 2 or more categories, but trust me this is still a TON of food.

*(the above is a combination of the recommendations in the 2nd edition of What to Expect When you are Expecting by Arlene Eisenberg, heidi Murkoff, and Sandee Hathaway)and literature I received from Kaiser Permanente

Now as anyone who knows me can attest,  I’ve never been a dainty eater even when I was a size 6 (and yes , that’s going back a long time). But I feel like I’m eating all the time. I now HATE eating.  Ah, the popped buttons and elastic waistbands I could have spared myself in the years I was watching my weight if I had known how easy it would be to kill my appetite by forcing myself to eat healthy, frequent meals! I fear after months of this new eating style one of 2 things will happen, I will either become anorexic after the babies are born, swearing off food completely, or I will get accustomed to eating ginormous quantities of food and continue to expand beyond the pregnancy until I resemble Jabba the Hut.

The protein alone is unbelievable. for a vegetarian ( I was one for 8.5 years and now am slowly eating meat again, not because it can’t be done, but because it cannot be done by me! As I am about to illustrate, a 3 oz. serving of most meats is considerably more manageable than the vegetarian protein sources which require larger portion sizes. I cannot even eat 1 serving of beans, which is about 1 cup, much less 6! 2 eggs with 2 egg whites is just 1 lousy serving of protein (according to my 2nd edition of What to expect When you are Expecting) 5-6 oz. of tofu, 1 lousy serving. (a whole package of marinated tofu is  8 oz, a little over 1 LOUSY SERVING.)

Ok, I’ll stop with that now, but get this, I’m supposed to have between 100 and 130 grams of protein a day. Before pregnancy I was getting 46, on a good day.

I’m also supposed to eat every 2 hrs. Not a big meal, but a small meal or snack. It doesn’t sound so bad, but in practice I’m finding that if it takes me an hour to cook lunch, and half an hour to get my nauseated self to eat it, then I have only about a half an hour before I need to fix something again. Most of my day revolves around food- shopping, preparing, eating, cleaning up. (I have been buying more ready made foods, but they tend to be less nutritious and are expensive, and in eating 6 or more small meals per day has already made our grocery bills out of sight!!

Well, I think I’ll stop here for my first entry.

I’d like to encourage expecting moms , to submit  comments on your own experiences with the challenges of eating healthy when you really don’t want to eat at all.

From → All Posts

One Comment
  1. Hi,
    Just discovered this–have read first few–you have a good sense of humor!

    Love,
    Uncle Joel

Leave a Reply

