Skip to content

20 weeks -5-1/2 months and looking more like 7

May 20, 2010

K, this is for you! 😉 (It’s awesome to have someone demand that I get on here and post! 🙂 )

So far this week has been very busy with some consulting work and volunteer stuff. A friend sent me a surprise package of books that were helpful to her (FYI for those of you building a pregnancy/babycare library, they were Baby Bargains and Baby 411) and a board book that was a favorite of both her boys!) It was an awesome gift and very sweet! Also, my first free baby magazine arrived this week. My only baby preparation activities this week have been reading these goodies when I can carve out a little time.

John has started temporarily moving stuff out of the basement so he can start refinishing the floor. Once that’s all done my office will go into the basement, so we can turn it into a nursery. I think I will make it my personal mission to see just how inexpensively we can furnish  and decorate it. John likes to remind me that the babies won’t care what the room looks like. I tell him that short of having something interesting to look at, he is absolutely right, decorating the nursery is for Mommy!

I’m still not sleeping great but my back had improved a lot. I proactively use the heating pad (on low) when I first lay down for bed and that seems to help. Unfortunately I backslid (no pun intended) as, since I was feeling better I went and did a whole bunch of housework, 4 loads of laundy (this involves 21 flights of stairs total) and a ton of dishes. I put one foot up on a step stool while I did dishes and tried to break it up so I wouldn’t be standing too long at a time, but I guess I still overdid it cause my back has been acting up since. Also, the last couple of nights  I’ve been waking up between 4 and 5 a.m. because I’m hungry. This is the first week I’ve needed a snack in the middle of the night. Clearly my appetite has increased, unfortunately it isn’t as strong for vegetables as it is for sweets.  My sweet tooth had been remarkably undemanding up until now.

Tomorrow is my multiples club’s new member social, which I’m looking forward to.

From → All Posts

2 Comments
  1. Hi Kim!!

    Yay!!! So, a little bird sent you a message from me, huh? 😉

    Thanks for posting!! I really do look forward to reading your weekly posts and I keep Jono updated too.

    Have you looked on Craigslist for nursery furniture and baby items? If you look daily/weekly in the baby section, you can find some really great deals on some nice things. That’s what we plan on doing when I get pregnant. We’ve bought almost all of our household furniture off of Craigslist and you would never know it. Most of it is high-end and we got great deals on everything! It’s worth a look.

    I hope your back is feeling better today. Have fun at the multiples social! 🙂

  2. I think that was abt when my sweet tooth kicked in too! Hasn’t stopped either! Dannnnggggggiiiiittt!

    Mothering Multiples is a HIGHLY recommended book, I haven’t gotten too far in it, but I am going too.

Leave a Reply

