Skip to content

Tomorrow will be 26 weeks! Just call me elephant foot girl

June 29, 2010

This week, starting tomorrow, is the last week of my 6th month and 2nd tri-mester! 🙂

I’m looking BIG and am a bit uncomfortable which makes it hard to sleep. It seems like I haven’t gotten a good night’s rest in many weeks. My feet are quite problematic now too. Any amount of sitting, standing or walking without propping them up and they, particularly the left foot, balloon up. I have been exclusively wearing flip flops, not the sturdiest things for a clumsy pregnant lady, but that’s all that fits. If the swelling gets really bad my foot gets tingly and painful. My doctor suggested compression stockings. Stockings in the heatwaves of late?! I’m so not looking forward to that! But I’ll give it a shot.

A side note: we caught our first mouse finally. I’m sure the little bugger has family lurking around, but I’m encouraged that there is one less mouse procreating in our house. Dealing with them has been an unwelcome distraction from all the things we hope to accomplish in the house. (plus they carry diseases that are particularly dangerous to fetuses, so the sooner we rid the house of them the better!)

I’ve been very fortunate to be the recipient of more generosity from family and friends.  I may have mentioned it before, but a neighbor gave me a small bag of maternity clothes which are very cute and it was super nice of her as we don’t really know each other that well.  In the bag was this awesome dress that I wore to my Sierra Club meeting tonight and intend to wear to my shower, which is less than 2 weeks away. My mother-in-law took me shopping for a few items that I desperately needed: SHORTS  (thankfully we did this before the crazy early hot weather we’ve been having ), a shirt and a support belt. The belt helps  a LOT with back pain from standing, it is awesome!  I highly recommend getting one. FYI: it needs to be adjusted when you sit down. I tend to just put it on when I’ll be standing awhile, ex. doing dishes, cooking, laundry, shopping, etc.

Our baby gear is really coming together!  Two of our good friends gave us a hand-me-down car seat (you prego moms-to -be out there probably already know that with used carseats you should know the giver and the history- you want a carseat that is not expired and has not been in an accident) and my aunt and uncle offered to get us a stroller. Plus, I put some of the bigger equipment items on the universal registry over the weekend. These were things I was spending, albeit too much, mental energy on so to have selected them all feels really good. (and Em, the Baby Bargains book was a huge help with all of these decisions!)

I’ve been feeling and seeing the babies move more. I think they move more when I’m hungry as if to say, ” Hey, Ma, feed me will ya?  You’ve got 2 hungry babies in here!” We’ve tried to capture this on video, but no success just yet. It is very surreal. I wonder how it compares to a singleton pregnancy’s visible movements. To me it looks like they are doing the wave under my skin. I’ll get to see my little wave doing sports fans on Thurs. at my July ultrasound. 🙂

From → All Posts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

