Skip to content

To their credit, the babies like BB King!

July 16, 2010

In retrospect, attending an outdoor evening concert downtown in 90+ degree heat at 7 months pregnant was not a good idea.

The babies seemed to do fine with the noise. I tried to muffle it with my grandparents hemroid pillow, which I at first thought was just a cushion.  The hole in the middle held my water bottle nicely, though. Perhaps familiarity with music helped, perhaps they inherited their father’s love for the blues, certainly the music was preferable to them than the just plain noise of a movie. Either that or I comatosed them with excessive heat. 😦 (I was too hot which means they were even hotter. Eventually I got smart and stood on the side of the tent where airflow was better.) Note to self: no more movies, concerts, or 90+ degree outdoor activities until after they are born!

Going out takes a lot out of me, as does the heat. I slept until 10:30 this morning. I find that one event a day is all I have in me and that exhausts me thoroughly. I’m on the verge of backing off my volunteer work duties and am trying to slow down in other ways, there is just so much going on, and I cannot seem to get out of all of it. I’ve been standing firm so far on making zero plans for August but the rest of July is proving more difficult. Even if I stayed at home and did none of it, I could easily exhaust myself trying to make a dent in all there is to do here.

I did decide that a 9 hour straight birthing class is way more than I can handle. Unfortunately it is the only one I have found so far that is in the next couple of weeks and has openings. (I hadn’t signed up for one sooner because there was only about a 25% chance that both babies would be head down as the hospital insists for natural birth, but they are and may not move out of position, in which case, I have the option to delivery naturally afterall. I’m hoping to be able to cram on breathing techniques, etc. with the help of DVDs. Anyone have any DVD recommendations?

From → All Posts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

