Skip to content

9 pounds of babies!

July 30, 2010

Late this morning John and I went to what will hopefully be my 2nd to last ultrasound. I say hopefully because my next ultrasound will be in about 4 weeks, and we hope they’ll hang in there for 5-7. The longer they have to develop in there the healthier they are likely to be. I will be induced or have a scheduled c-section at 38 weeks in the unlikely event that they do stay in that long.

For my fellow statistic buffs here are the numbers; keep in mind that today is 30 weeks and 4 days.

In my left corner, Baby A, a.k.a “Baby girl Cunningham,” weighing in at 4 lbs, 8 oz. With a heartrate of 134 beats per minute. Baby girl’s measurements equate to a baby 33 weeks and 3 days old.

To my right, Baby B, a.k.a “Baby boy Cunningham” having beefed up to match the weight of Baby girl, with a heartrate of 136 beats per minute. He measures equivalent to a baby 32 weeks and 6 days old.

It is only during ultrasounds that I can see how active he is.  He was so active in fact that he switched from a head down to a breech position and then later out of breech into a sideways position just during the exam period. I am advised that they can continue to shift positions for several weeks. This is important as if one baby is in breech position the hospital I’m going to won’t permit a natural delivery.

She is higher up and more to the front, and is my main belly distorter. She entertains me quite a lot with her swimming. She moved a lot during the exam too; at times I was torn between watching her through my belly and watching the screen!  I don’t imagine the babies care for these exams much. Today the technician had to press down very hard at times and at one point moved the table so that I was hanging upside down almost like a bat, because she was so far down that he couldn’t get her length measurements. (I wasn’t surprised that they are far down as I felt them move down, which scared me as “lightening,” when they move down toward the cervix, isn’t supposed to happen yet. While I enjoy a bit less pressure on my lungs, I don’t want them to be too eager to make their exit!

This technician is better than the other one, who lately had been such an absolute airhead that I asked for him at the desk this time. (She forgot to measure our boy’s heartrate, took a measurement that was so far off that she should have caught herself, and kept typing in information wrong.) Since this technician hadn’t seen me for awhile we had to go over all the particulars, that is: which baby is which and who is where. He also is a stickler about visitors. John got to come in for the second half but only after I insisted. John was happy as a clam, grinning from ear to ear the whole time. We even got to see the hair on our son’s head!

From → All Posts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

